Sun set over Phnom Penh

Sun set over Phnom Penh, originally uploaded by coming2cambodia.

It is hard to believe that I have only been here for a week and, at the same time, it is hard to believe that it has been only just a week. Similarly, I have so much to say and nothing at all. I am really excited about my trip out to the province of Battambong. For one thing, I am excited to see what the provinces looks like. On another hand, I think it will give me a clear idea or picture of what my life will look like for the next 6 months.

As update on job progress. The center is Svay Rieng is scheduled to open the 19th of February. This leaves me several weeks to visit local NGOs and shelter in Battambong (this week), Phnom Penh, and hopefully Poipet. It also is a time for me to help give my input on a basic social work manual being created for shelters. Its an interesting position to be in. On the one hand, this is exactly what I have been studying and so I hope that my contribution can be worthwhile. On the other hand, I have only been here a week, and up until later today, never in the field. Therefore, I really have very little cultural context. Regardless, its a good activity and is trying to address some very important issues when working with, or sheltering, child victims of human trafficking.

I am leaving you will a picture of the sun setting over Phnom Penh. It was taken this weekend when I went on a boat trip with a GWB alumna and her friends. It was a beautiful way to see the city; however, it made the city and its people seem so far away. It leads to the question that I have asked myself in countless countries: how can such extreme poverty and such extreme wealth co-exist side by side?

4 Comments

  1. Amy said,

    January 24, 2007 at 9:56 am

    The best way to learn is often to jump in and your cautions will likely make you even more thoughtful during the process. Thanks for doing a great job posting your pictures and experiences. Living vicariously has become easier than ever! : )

  2. Clare said,

    January 27, 2007 at 6:57 pm

    Glad you have enjoyed. I need to make sure I don’t go over my limit on flickr which I am fast on my way to doing. How is GWB life?

  3. Amy said,

    February 2, 2007 at 11:58 am

    Life is busy, but interesting. This semester I have very hands-on classes and practicum projects, which I like. Perhaps more importantly, I have committed to having a social life this semester – no matter how busy I get! Unheard of ; ) Take care dollface.

  4. Clare said,

    February 4, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    Humph! What is this deciding to have a social life now that Clare is gone? Should I take offense to this??

    Anyway, hope it is working out for you. Keep the emails and comments coming! Glad you like the pics.


Leave a Reply

